Infos

Aims and scope

The journal Quartär has been published by the„Hugo Obermaier Society for Ice Age and Stone Age Research“for more than 50 years. Since its foundation the Society has been closely linked to interdisciplinary Quaternary research and is represented internationally by its journal. With Volume 55 of Quartär a new editorial board takes on the challenge of confirming the publication as a leading European archaeologically oriented Quaternary research journal while at the same time maintaining its traditions.

The editorial board intends to meet this challenge in future by bringing the scientific profile of Quartär more sharply into focus and close to active research. In order to guarantee contributions of a high scientific standard, submitted papers will be assessed by at least two researchers within the framework of a review process. All newly published articles are accessible via the Quartär homepage, even before the printed version is published. As soon as the articles have been set with page numbers and are ready to print, they will migrate to the Quartär yearbook online and are freely accessible there. Once a year, the Quartär yearbook appears as a printed volume.

Thematic and geographical orientation

Quartär publishes contributions on Pleistocene and early Holocene archaeology and ecology in German or English. Thematic content is focused on Palaeolithic and Mesolithic hunter- gatherer societies and studies of their ecological background and is also understood to include the process of neolithisation. Alongside the presentation of important new finds, data, results and interpretations, manuscripts presenting an overview or with review character are also welcome. Book reviews are also published.

The geographical focus of Quartär lies in Europe and it is intended that its Central European origins continue to be a factor promoting dialogue between eastern and western Quaternary researchers. At the same time, contributions from outside Europe are welcome, particularly when they place new and significant results in a global context.

Starting with Volume 65 (2018), Quartär is published in collaboration with our partner Verlag Dr. Faustus.

Since 2011 Quartär is being indexed by Scopus (Elsevier) and ranked by SCImago Journal & Country Rank. Quartär was ranked in 2014 as second of German archaeology publications and 27th worldwide (SCImago Journal & Country Rank. Retrieved July 30, 2015, from http://www.scimagojr.com).

Infos

Ziele und Gegenstand

Die Zeitschrift Quartär wird seit mehr als 50 Jahren von der „Hugo Obermaier Gesellschaft für Erforschung des Eiszeitalters und der Steinzeit e.V.“ herausgegeben. Seit ihrer Gründung ist die Gesellschaft eng mit der interdisziplinären Quartärforschung verbunden und mit ihrer Zeitschrift international vertreten. Mit Band 55 von Quartär stellt sich ein neues Herausgebergremium der Herausforderung, die Publikation als eine führende europäische archäologisch orientierte Zeitschrift für Quartärforschung zu bestätigen und gleichzeitig ihre Traditionen zu bewahren.

Dieser Herausforderung will das Herausgebergremium auch in Zukunft gerecht werden, indem es das wissenschaftliche Profil von Quartär stärker in den Vordergrund rückt und der aktiven Forschung nahe bringt. Um Beiträge auf hohem wissenschaftlichem Niveau zu gewährleisten, werden die eingereichten Arbeiten im Rahmen eines Begutachtungsverfahrens von mindestens zwei Personen beurteilt. Alle neu publizierten Artikel sind über die Quartär-Homepage zugänglich, noch bevor die gedruckte Version veröffentlicht wird. Sobald die Artikel mit Seitenzahlen versehen und druckfertig sind, werden sie auf das Quartär-Jahrbuch online migriert und sind dort im Open Access frei zugänglich. Einmal im Jahr erscheint das Quartär-Jahrbuch als gedruckter Band.

Thematische und geographische Ausrichtung

Quartär veröffentlicht Beiträge zur pleistozänen und frühholozänen Archäologie und Ökologie in deutscher oder englischer Sprache. Der thematische Inhalt konzentriert sich auf paläolithische und mesolithische Jäger- und Sammlergesellschaften und Studien ihrer ökologischen Hintergründe und versteht sich auch unter dem Prozess der Neolithisierung. Neben der Präsentation wichtiger Neufunde, Daten, Ergebnisse und Interpretationen sind auch Manuskripte mit Übersichts- oder Übersichtscharakter willkommen. Darüber hinaus werden Buchbesprechungen publiziert.

Der geographische Schwerpunkt von Quartär liegt in Europa, und die mitteleuropäische Herkunft soll auch weiterhin ein Faktor sein, der den Dialog zwischen östlichen und westlichen Quartärforschern fördert. Gleichzeitig sind Beiträge von außerhalb Europas willkommen, insbesondere wenn sie neue und bedeutende Ergebnisse in einen globalen Kontext stellen.

Ab Band 65 (2018) wird Quartär in Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Verlagspartner Verlag Dr. Faustus publiziert.

Seit 2011 wird Quartär von Scopus (Elsevier) indiziert und von SCImago Journal & Country Rank bewertet. Quartär stand 2014 auf Platz 2 der deutschen archäologischen Publikationen, und auf Platz 27 weltweit (SCImago Journal & Country Rank. Retrieved July 30, 2015, from http://www.scimagojr.com).